In Honor of Dr. King

This was my most visited post ever so it seems like a good idea to share it again today for any new visitors. Thanks and please feel free to comment.

chosenperspectives

IMG_6112

This framed postcard sits on my desk. I like to think he is teaching this child my favorite quote…

“Never, never be afraid to do what’s right, especially if the well-being of a person or animal is at stake. Society’s punishments are small compared to the wounds we inflict on our soul when we look the other way.”

My First Public Speaking Experience

(This is NOT intended as a political post)

Try to put yourself in my shoes….

I am standing on a big stage, pretending with all my might that I am somehow hidden behind the podium. I am looking out over a huge, newly built auditorium. The house is full. I am one of only ten white people in this entire gathering. My white-ness highlighted by my San Diego sun bleached long, straight hair. I am at Miles College just outside Birmingham in Fairfield, Alabama. There is a blurry…

View original post 1,583 more words

Published by

choosingmyperspective

Thought a blog might help me develop better writing habits so I could finally finish my book, 16 years in the writing, but so far it's mostly photos and FUN!

Leave a Reply

